Carlos Palanca Awards 2013 Winners Awarded

Hear ye, literature lovers!

In keeping with its September 1st tradition, the Carlos Palanca Foundation held the awarding ceremony for this year's Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature yesterday at the posh Manila Pen. An annual literary contest since 1950, the Palanca is considered the oldest and most prestigious award for writers, both published and non-pros. 

This mom has always dreamed of making it in the roster, a Palanca award being considered as the pinnacle of one's writing career, as far as Philippine letters are concerned. Or as Sherma Bernosa puts it, "the meterstick of one's writing ability...(an award meaning) you 'have arrived' in your literary career."

And this year I was able to tick off bucket list item #21 by sending in a collection of poems to the Palanca - only to realize a month later that I typed the dang collection in single space. *Insert facepalm here*

(Folks, this is why you don't send in entries the last minute.)

So ya, I'm assuming my collection pretty much got chucked into the waste basket for not conforming to a BASIC AND SIMPLE rule before it even got read.

But hey, there's always next year, yes?

For now, here are the complete list of winners. In the future, you may also be able to view it on the Carlos Palanca Foundation official webpage HERE.

Grand prize: Eros Sanchez Atalia (“Tatlong Gabi, Tatlong Araw”).

Dulang Pampelikula
2nd: George A. De Jesus III (“Kung Paano Maghiwalay”)
3rd: Patrick John R. Valencia (“The Revenge of the Comfort Woman”)

Dulang Ganap ang Haba
3rd: Luciano Sonny O. Valencia (“Dhahran Queens Manila”)

Dulang May Isang Yugto
1st: Miguel Antonio Alfredo V. Luarca (“Mga Kuneho”)
2nd: George A. De Jesus III (“Kapit”)
3rd: Bernadette Villanueva Neri (“Pamamanhikan”)

1st: Enrique S. Villasis (“Manansala”) 
2nd: Mark Anthony Angeles (“Asal-Hayop”
3rd: Kristian Sendon Cordero (“Lobo sa Loob: Mga Tula”)

Tulang Pambata
1st: Eugene Y. Evasco (“Harana ng Kuliglig”)
2nd: April Jade I. Biglaen (“Family Tree na Tumubo sa Anit”)
3rd: Alvin Capili Ursua (“Sisid”)

Maikling Kuwento
1st: Lilia Quindoza Santiago (“Bayanggudaw”)
2nd: Bernadette Villanueva Neri (“Pamamanhikan”)
3rd: Kristian Sendon Cordero (“Ad Astra Per Aspera”)

Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
1st: Maryrose Jairene C. Cruz (“Ang Paglalakbay ni Pipoy Piso”)
2nd: Eugene Y. Evasco and Chris Martinez (“Ang Singsing-Pari sa Pisara”)
3rd: Lucky Virgo Joyce Tinio (“Salusalo para kay Kuya”)

1st: Kristian Sendon Cordero (“Our Lady of Imelda”)
2nd: Salvador T. Biglaen (“Gabay sa Gurong-Lingkod”)
3rd: Laurence Marvin S. Castillo for (“Mga Birtwal na Karahasan”)

Kabataan Sanaysay
1st: Rowin C. de Leon (“Ang Alamat ng Batang Manunulat”) 
2nd: Annette Irina C. Tanlimco (“Pagkatok ng Dumadagundong na Manok sa Umaga”)
3rd: Rajee S. Florido (“Deus ex Machina: Sapagkat Tayo ay Bulag Pa”)

Grand prize: Jose Elvin Bueno (“Subversivo, Inc.”)

Full-Length Play
1st: Jay M. Crisostomo IV (“End of the Gallows”)
2nd: Mario L. Mendez Jr. (“The Son of Ashes”)
3rd: Floy C. Quintos (“Collection”)

One-Act Play
1st: Allan B. Lopez (“Blue Eyes”)
2nd: Lystra Aranal (“Debrief”)
3rd: Danilo Niño Calalang (“Call of Duty”)

1st: Mikael de Lara Co (“Pastoral and other poems”)
2nd: Carlomar Arcangel Daoana (“Crown for Maria”)
3rd: Joy Anne Icayan (“Animal Experiments”)

Poetry for Children
1st: Mia A. Buenaventura (“Attack of the Persistent Cold Virus and Other Poems”)
2nd: Francis C. Macansantos  (“Mr. Bully and Other Poems for Children”)
3rd: Kathleen Aton-Osias (“Monsters Under my Bed” )

Short Story
1st: John Bengan (“Armor”)
2nd: Erlinda V. Kravetz (“Krystal Hut”)
3rd: Lystra Aranal (“Ren”)

Short Story For Children
1st: Nadeth Rae E. Rival (“Marvino’s League of Superheroes)
2nd: Cheeno Marlo Sayuno (The Magic Bahag)
3rd: Patricia Marie Grace S. Gomez (“A Thousand of Paper Cranes”)

1st: Shakira Andrea C. Sison (“The Krakauer Table)
2nd: Laurel Anne Fantauzzo (“Under My Invisible Umbrella”)
3rd: Maria Neobie G. Gonzalez (“Voices from the Village”)

Kabataan Essay
1st: Marc Christian M. Lopez (“Hymns of the Mountains, Dreams of the Stars”)
2nd: Vicah Adrienne P. Villanueva (“Panacea”)
3rd: Pauline Samantha B. Sagayo (“Manifesto of Literature”)

Short Story-Cebuano
1st: Jona Branzuela (“Bering Tubod”)
2nd: Richel G. Dorotan (“Ang Batang Tamsi”)
3rd: Noel P. Tuazon (“Padre Botox”)

Short Story-Hiligaynon
1st: Peter Solis Nery (“Si Padre Olan Kag Ang Dios”)
2nd: Norman Tagudinay (“Darap Ulubrahon”)
3rd: Alice Tan Gonzales (“Torbik”)

Short Story-Iluko
2nd: Danilo B. Antalan (“Bagnos Payegpeg, Beterano”)
3rd: Gorgonia B. Serrano (“Ti Palimed ni Katugangak”).

Congratulations to all the winners! Long live Philippine literature!

No comments: